top of page

GovCon Are Ready for CMMC? No worries...this 6-Step process to will help your prepare.

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a set of security standards and practices that have been developed to help protect the sensitive information of U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) contractors. The CMMC applies to all DoD contractors who handle Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI). In this blog post, we will outline the steps you can take to prepare for CMMC certification.

Step 1: Review the CMMC Model

The first step in preparing for CMMC certification is to review the CMMC model. The model consists of 3 maturity levels, each of which has a specific set of security practices and controls that must be in place. The higher the maturity level, the more comprehensive the security measures must be. Familiarize yourself with the specific requirements for each level so you can assess your organization's current security posture and determine which level you need to attain.

Step 2: Conduct a Risk Assessment

The next step is to conduct a risk assessment to identify any gaps in your current security posture. This will help you determine what changes you need to make to meet the requirements of the CMMC. Consider engaging a third-party risk assessment firm to help with this process.

Step 3: Develop a Plan

Once you have completed your risk assessment, you need to develop a plan to address any gaps. This may involve upgrading your existing security measures, implementing new controls, or conducting training for your staff. Consider involving all relevant stakeholders, including IT, legal, and HR, in this process.

Step 4: Implement Changes

The next step is to implement the changes you identified in your plan. This may involve purchasing new hardware or software, implementing new policies and procedures, or providing training to your staff. Be sure to document all changes and keep records of any updates to your security measures.

Step 5: Validate your Implementation

Once you have implemented the changes, you need to validate that they have been done correctly. This may involve conducting an internal audit or engaging a third-party to conduct an independent assessment.

Step 6: Obtain Certification

The final step is to obtain certification. This will involve submitting a self-assessment and undergoing an on-site assessment by a CMMC Accreditation Body. The assessment will include a review of your security measures and an evaluation of your risk management processes.

In conclusion, preparing for CMMC certification requires careful planning and attention to detail. By following the steps outlined in this blog post, you can ensure that your organization is well prepared for the certification process and ready to meet the requirements of the DoD. Good luck!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page